Tax Software · Crypto tax software & portfolio tracker

CoinTracker Affiliate and Referral Program Review

CoinTracker does not publish a self-serve affiliate program. Its official offer is a user referral scheme paying 20% of a friend's first-year subscription, capped at $500 per referrer, via PayPal or Venmo, while the friend gets 20% off. Publisher deals appear on third-party networks with terms CoinTracker has not confirmed.

Free to apply. Approval depends on your traffic sources and the program terms.

Commission Referral: 20% of year 1, max $500
Cookie life Not disclosed
Payout frequency 30 days after the friend's purchase
Minimum payout Not publicly confirmed
Payout methods PayPal, Venmo

Program terms at a glance

Commission
Official referral program: 20% of the referred user's first-year subscription cost, capped at $500 USD per referrer. Publisher affiliate terms are not published by CoinTracker; FlexOffers lists the program at 16% per sale with unspecified exclusions (third-party listing, unverified).
Model
Per-sale %
Duration
First-year subscription only (referral program)
Cookie life
Not disclosed (30 days per FlexOffers)
Attribution
Personal referral link (Cello); FlexOffers listing shows a 30-day cookie (third-party, unverified)
Payout frequency
30 days after the friend's purchase
Minimum payout
Not publicly confirmed
Payout methods
PayPalVenmo
Sub-affiliates
No
Allowed traffic
  • Personal referral sharing
  • Content/SEO via affiliate networks (terms not published)
Restricted traffic
  • Not disclosed
Affiliate KYC
Not publicly confirmed
Restricted regions
  • Not disclosed
Approval
Referral program open to CoinTracker users; network affiliate program requires application and approval through the network
Tracking & reporting
Cello referral dashboard; network dashboards for affiliates
Promo materials
Not publicly confirmed
Manager support
Not publicly confirmed
What your referrals get
20% off the referred user's first paid plan

What stands out

What stands out

  • Referred users get 20% off their first paid plan
  • 20% of the friend's first-year subscription, up to $500 per referrer
  • Referral rewards paid in USD via PayPal or Venmo
  • Official crypto tax partner of TurboTax and H&R Block
  • Plans range from a free tracker to high-volume tax plans

Watch out for

  • No public affiliate application page or published affiliate T&C
  • Referral rewards cover the first year only and are capped at $500 per referrer
  • Cookie length and publisher commission are not disclosed officially
  • Coinbase customers already get 20% off via an official Coinbase promotion

CoinTracker is a crypto tax and portfolio tracking tool with a large mainstream footprint: it is the official crypto tax partner of TurboTax and H&R Block and has a long-running partnership with Coinbase. Plans range from a free tracker to high-volume tax plans. If you write about crypto taxes, your readers have probably heard of it.

What CoinTracker does not have is a public affiliate program in the usual sense. This review is precise about that, because a lot of directories present network listings as if they were CoinTracker’s own terms.

What is confirmed and what is not

Before the details, here is the split between what CoinTracker itself publishes and what comes from third parties.

ItemStatusSource
Referral reward: 20% of first-year subscription, max $500 per referrerConfirmedCoinTracker help center
Friend gets 20% off first paid planConfirmedCoinTracker help center
Payout via PayPal or Venmo, 30 days after purchaseConfirmedCoinTracker help center
Public affiliate application page or affiliate termsNot found—
16% per sale, 30-day cookieUnconfirmedFlexOffers listing (third-party)
Minimum payout, restricted traffic, restricted regionsNot disclosed—

CoinTracker’s own Terms of Service disclose that it earns affiliate fees from third-party businesses linked inside its app. In other words, CoinTracker is an affiliate itself — it just does not run an open program for publishers.

How the CoinTracker referral program works

The official scheme is documented in the CoinTracker Referral Program help article and runs on Cello, a referral-infrastructure provider.

20%of friend's first-year plan
$500cap per referrer
20% offfor the friend

You share your personal referral linkReferral code A short code a new user enters at sign-up that permanently links their account to you, even if they never click your link. More. Your friend gets 20% off their first paid plan. When they complete a plan purchase, you earn 20% of their first-year subscription cost, paid 30 days after the purchase in USD via PayPal or Venmo.

Three limits shape what this scheme is good for:

  • First year only. There is no recurring commissionRecurring commission A commission paid again every time a referred customer renews a subscription — typical for trading bots and crypto tax software. More; renewals in later years pay nothing.
  • $500 cap per referrer. As worded in the help article, the cap applies per referrer. Read literally, that limits your total earnings from the scheme, which makes it a refer-a-friend perk rather than a publisher business. If you plan to promote at scale, ask CoinTracker how the cap applies before you invest.
  • No sub-affiliates. There is no second tier.

The referral terms have changed before

An earlier CoinTracker product update described different numbers: 10% off for the friend and “up to 20%” for the referrer. The current help article says 20% off and 20% of the first-year subscription, capped at $500. Always check the live article rather than older blog posts or reviews quoting the previous terms.

Network affiliate listings: what they are and what they are not

If you search for a CoinTracker affiliate program, you will find listings on affiliate networksAffiliate network A platform that connects many advertisers with many affiliates and handles tracking, reporting and payouts in one account. More. FlexOffers, for example, lists CoinTracker at 16% per sale with unspecified exclusions and a 30-day cookie.

Fact check

Network listings are third-party data. CoinTracker does not publish publisher commission, cookie length, payout schedule or traffic rules on its own site. The 16% and 30-day figures are what FlexOffers shows, not terms CoinTracker has confirmed. Treat them as a starting point and verify the live offer inside the network after approval.

Notice the difference from the referral scheme. The network figure (16%) is lower than the referral rate (20%), but a publisher deal is normally not subject to a personal $500 cap, and the network handles tracking, reporting and payouts under its own terms. Which is better depends on your volume and on what the network contract actually says. Our affiliate networks overview explains how network offers, approvals and payouts work in general.

The other route is direct: contact CoinTracker’s partnerships team. Large publishers, tax professionals and fintech apps may get custom deals, but nothing about those deals is public. In our data the publisher commission is listed as “Custom / Based on traffic volume” for that reason.

Questions to ask before you sign a network or direct deal

Because nothing is published, your contract is the only source of truth. Get written answers to these before you build pages around CoinTracker:

  • What is the commission rate, and which plans or products are excluded?
  • How long is the cookie, and is attribution last-clickLast click An attribution rule where the affiliate whose link was clicked last before the conversion gets the full commission. More?
  • Is the commission paid on renewals, or only on the first purchase?
  • Is there a cap per order, per month or in total?
  • Are paid search, brand biddingBrand bidding Buying search ads on a brand's own name, such as 'Bitget login'. Most crypto programs ban it and can void your commissions. More and coupon sites allowed?
  • Which countries are excluded?
  • What is the minimum payoutMinimum payout The smallest balance you must earn before the program pays you. Earnings below it usually roll over to the next period. More, and how often are you paid?

If the network or partnerships team cannot answer, that tells you how much weight to give the offer.

How to get started

  1. For the referral program: log in to CoinTracker and open the referral section to get your personal link, powered by Cello.
  2. Share it with people who need tax reports. Your friend sees 20% off their first paid plan.
  3. Wait for the purchase to clear. Rewards are paid 30 days after the friend completes a plan purchase.
  4. Choose PayPal or Venmo to receive your reward in USD.
  5. For publisher terms: apply through a network that lists CoinTracker, such as FlexOffers, or contact CoinTracker's partnerships team with your traffic numbers.

The Coinbase promotion problem

CoinTracker runs an official promotion that gives Coinbase customers 20% off. That is the same discount your referral link offers. If your audience mostly uses Coinbase, many readers can get the discount without your link, and the promotion competes directly with your referral or affiliate traffic.

Plan around it. Content that targets users of other exchanges, DeFi users or people with many wallets gives your link a better chance of being the one they use.

Who CoinTracker suits

  • Individual users and small creators who want to earn something from recommending a tool they already use. The referral scheme is built for this.
  • Publishers already active on a network that carries CoinTracker, where adding the offer costs little.
  • Large publishers and tax professionals willing to negotiate directly.

It is a weaker fit for new affiliate sites that want clear, self-serve publisher terms. For those, CoinLedger’s public program — 25% of every report each year, 15-day cookie, $30 minimum — or Koinly’s affiliate program — 20% per plan up to $150 per order — are easier to evaluate before you write a word.

CoinTracker vs other crypto tax affiliate programs

ProgramOfficial public offerDuration
CoinTrackerReferral: 20% of first-year plan, max $500First year only
CoinLedgerAffiliate: 25% of every reportEvery year the referral files
KoinlyAffiliate: 20% per plan, max $150 per orderRepeat terms not published

CoinTracker is the only one of the three without a public affiliate program, which makes it the hardest of the three for a publisher to evaluate, despite its strong mainstream partnerships.

Conversion tips for CoinTracker content

CoinTracker’s main asset is trust by association. Being the official crypto tax partner of TurboTax and H&R Block matters to mainstream US filers who already use those products. If your audience files with TurboTax, explain how CoinTracker fits that workflow — that is a reason to choose it that competitors cannot copy.

Lead with the problem, not the brand. “How to import crypto transactions into TurboTax” or “how to report crypto from multiple wallets” brings in readers who are close to buying. Recommend CoinTracker as the tool that solves the specific step, and show screenshots.

Be clear about pricing tiers. Because plans run from a free tracker up to high-volume tax plans, readers may sign up for the free tier and never pay. Explain which plan fits which situation, so the people you send actually purchase — that is the only event that triggers a referral reward.

Mention the 20% discount honestly. It is real, it comes with your referral link, and it is the same size as the Coinbase promotion, so do not present it as exclusive.

Compliance notes

Tax tools are not financial products, but your content touches tax obligations. Do not tell readers what they owe, and point them to a tax professional for their own situation. Disclose your referral or affiliate relationship clearly, as you would for any other program; our crypto affiliate compliance guide covers disclosure basics. If you are new to affiliate work, start with our crypto affiliate marketing guide.

Verdict

CoinTracker’s confirmed offer is a user referral scheme, not an affiliate program: 20% of a friend’s first-year subscription, capped at $500 per referrer, paid via PayPal or Venmo, with 20% off for the friend. It is a fair perk for users and small creators, and the TurboTax and H&R Block partnerships make the product easy to recommend.

For publishers, the picture is incomplete. There is no public application page, no published affiliate terms, and the network listing (16% per sale, 30-day cookie) is third-party data. If you need terms you can verify before you build content, start with the other programs in our crypto tax software affiliate programs category and treat CoinTracker as an add-on once you have a network or direct deal in writing.

Sources & official terms

Terms are taken from the official affiliate pages and agreements listed below. Programs change their terms without notice — confirm the current rates in the partner dashboard before you build a campaign around them.

  1. CoinTracker Help — CoinTracker Referral Program
  2. CoinTracker blog — product updates (earlier referral terms
  3. CoinTracker Terms of Service (affiliate-fee disclosure
  4. CoinTracker Help — Exclusive Coinbase promotion
  5. FlexOffers — CoinTracker affiliate program listing · third-party

Frequently asked questions

Does CoinTracker have an affiliate program?

Not a public, self-serve one. CoinTracker's site has no affiliate application page and no published affiliate terms. Its documented offer is a user referral program. Affiliate networks such as FlexOffers list a CoinTracker offer, but those terms come from the network, not from CoinTracker.

How much does the CoinTracker referral program pay?

20% of the referred user's first-year subscription cost, capped at $500 per referrer. Rewards are paid in USD via PayPal or Venmo 30 days after the friend completes a plan purchase.

What does my friend get with a CoinTracker referral link?

20% off their first paid plan.

What does FlexOffers pay for CoinTracker?

The FlexOffers listing shows 16% per sale with unspecified exclusions and a 30-day cookie. CoinTracker has not confirmed these terms, so treat them as the network's listing and check the live offer after you are approved.

Is the CoinTracker referral commission recurring?

No. The referral reward covers the first-year subscription only. There is no published recurring or lifetime commission. Compare CoinLedger's 25% recurring commission if renewals matter to you.

CoinTracker Affiliate and Referral Program Review

Referral: 20% of year 1, max $500

Join the affiliate program
↑