- CoinLedger is the only program here with a published recurring rate: 25% of every report a referral buys, each year they file.
- Caps matter more than headline rates: Koinly stops at $150 per order, CoinTracker's referral reward at $500 per referrer.
- Conversions cluster before national filing deadlines, so publish early and push hardest in the final weeks.
- CoinLedger bans paid ads and coupon sites outright; plan for organic content and email.
Every active crypto investor eventually faces the same chore: turning hundreds of trades, swaps and staking rewards into a tax report. That is why a crypto tax software affiliate program works so well next to exchange and trading bot content. The people who generate the most transactions are the ones most likely to pay for software instead of building spreadsheets.
The economics, though, look nothing like an exchange deal. You earn a percentage of a subscription or report price, the purchase happens once or twice a year, and demand follows tax deadlines rather than market cycles. This page compares the three tax programs in our catalog, explains the caps and cookie rules that decide real earnings, and shows how to time your content.
What matters when you choose a crypto tax affiliate program
Commission percentage is the least interesting number in this category, because all three brands sit between 16% and 25%. These five questions separate a good fit from a bad one.
Does it pay again next year? A crypto user who files with a tool once tends to come back the following year, because their history is already imported. CoinLedger pays you each time that happens. That is a true recurring commissionRecurring commission A commission paid again every time a referred customer renews a subscription — typical for trading bots and crypto tax software. More, tied to the filing cycle instead of a monthly subscription. CoinTracker’s referral reward covers the first-year subscription only. Koinly does not publish repeat-purchase terms; third-party directories mention 10% on repeat purchases, but Koinly has not confirmed it.
Is there a cap? Koinly caps commission at the lower of the amount paid or $150 per order, so the cap only bites on large orders. CoinTracker’s referral reward is capped at $500 per referrer, which, read literally, is a ceiling on your total referral earnings rather than per sale.
How long is the cookie? CoinLedger publishes a 15-day cookie windowCookie life How long after a click the program still credits you if the visitor signs up or buys. A 30-day cookie gives the user 30 days to convert. More tracked through FirstPromoter. Koinly and CoinTracker do not publish one. FlexOffers’ listing shows 30 days for CoinTracker, unconfirmed by the brand. Tax buyers often research for weeks, so short windows cost real money.
How and when are you paid? CoinLedger pays by PayPal only, on request, with a $30 minimum payoutMinimum payout The smallest balance you must earn before the program pays you. Earnings below it usually roll over to the next period. More after a 30-day hold. Koinly pays in USD via PayPal, with USDC offered as an alternative, after a 30-day lock and a 30–60 day cycle. CoinTracker’s referral rewards arrive via PayPal or Venmo 30 days after the friend’s purchase.
Who is allowed in? CoinLedger is self-serve with no audience threshold. Koinly’s terms say the affiliate program is meant for people with large followings; smaller users are pointed to its Refer-a-friend credit scheme. CoinTracker has no public affiliate application at all.
Koinly vs CoinLedger vs CoinTracker: terms side by side
The cards above list headline commissions. This table focuses on the rules that change lifetime value and cash flow.
| Rule | Koinly | CoinLedger | CoinTracker |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rate | 20% per sale | 25% of report price | 20% of first year (referral) |
| Repeat purchases | Not published officially | Yes, every filing year | No, first year only |
| Cap | $150 per order | None stated | $500 per referrer |
| Cookie | Not disclosed | 15 days | Not disclosed |
| Discount for your user | Not disclosed | 10% off at checkout | 20% off first paid plan |
| Paid ads allowed | Rules not disclosed | No, any paid ads invalidate referrals | Not disclosed |
The pattern is clear. CoinLedger trades a short cookie and strict traffic rules for the best long-term structure and the easiest entry. Koinly is the bigger brand to pitch but behaves like a one-time sale with a ceiling. CoinTracker is a referral scheme for existing users more than a publisher program, unless you reach it through an affiliate networkAffiliate network A platform that connects many advertisers with many affiliates and handles tracking, reporting and payouts in one account. More.
Seasonality: timing content around filing deadlines
Koinly’s own data shows most conversions clustering before national tax deadlines: April in the US, January in the UK and October in Australia. That gives you three peaks a year if you publish for all three markets, and one hard peak if you only write for one.
Search content takes months to rank, so the article you want ranking in the final weeks before a deadline has to be live long before it. With CoinLedger’s 15-day cookie, a reader who clicks early in the season and buys on deadline week may no longer be credited. The fix is to bring them back: an email list, a reminder post on social, or an updated “last-minute” section that gets a fresh click closer to the purchase.
Plan for delayed cash. Koinly and CoinLedger both hold commissions for 30 days, and Koinly deducts refunded orders from your balance. Peak-season earnings land weeks after the deadline, so do not budget paid content spend against money you have not yet been able to withdraw.
Off-season traffic is not worthless. Crypto users import wallets and exchanges throughout the year to track portfolios, and both Koinly and CoinTracker double as trackers. Year-round content works best when it targets those portfolio-tracking problems and leaves the hard tax push for the season.
Tax software program profiles
Koinly: big brand, capped commission
Koinly advertises 20% commission on eligible tax plans, capped at $150 per order, paid in USD via PayPal or USDC. Older materials still quote up to 40%, so treat that figure as historical or negotiated only. Two quirks catch people out. First, if you are already in Koinly’s Refer-a-friend scheme, switching to the affiliate program forfeits your unspent credits. Second, Koinly can deactivate affiliate codes for terms breaches. Koinly’s own blog also targets affiliate-related keywords, so expect it to compete with you in search. Full details in the Koinly affiliate review.
CoinLedger: recurring 25% with strict rules
CoinLedger runs a single program on FirstPromoter: the in-app “Invite friends and Earn $$$” link and the affiliate account share the same 25% recurring rate, 15-day cookie, $30 minimum and PayPal payouts. Your users get 10% off automatically. Commission applies only to the DIY tax software, not to done-for-you Tax Services such as Expert Review or Tax Prep. Links must carry rel=“nofollow”. See the CoinLedger review.
CoinTracker: a referral scheme first
CoinTracker’s documented offer is a referralReferral code A short code a new user enters at sign-up that permanently links their account to you, even if they never click your link. More program with Cello: 20% of the friend’s first-year subscription, up to $500 per referrer, and 20% off the friend’s first paid plan. It is an official crypto tax partner of TurboTax and H&R Block, which helps conversion in the US. The weak spot: Coinbase customers can already get 20% off through an official Coinbase promotion, so your discount is not unique for that audience. The CoinTracker review explains the network route.
Which crypto tax affiliate fits your site
Small or new content sites should start with CoinLedger. There is no audience threshold, the $30 minimum is reachable, and every customer you send can pay you again next season. Accept that the 15-day cookie and the ban on paid ads will shape how you work.
Creators and communities with a large following are who Koinly’s affiliate program is written for. The brand is widely searched, the 20% rate is simple to explain, and at 20% the $150 cap only starts to bite on orders above $750. Apply with real audience numbers, because smaller applicants get pointed to Refer-a-friend credits instead of cash.
US audiences already using CoinTracker can share a referral link today, but treat it as a bonus rather than a business: the reward covers one year and stops at $500. If you want publisher terms, look for it on the crypto affiliate networks you already use.
Multi-market sites covering the US, UK and Australia get three deadline peaks a year, which smooths out the seasonality that makes single-market tax content so lumpy.
Rules that get tax affiliates removed
Tax brands police their traffic harder than many exchanges, and the strictest rules are not always in the headline terms.
- No paid ads at CoinLedger. Paid search and paid social are both banned, and referrals from them are invalidated.
- No coupon or cashback sites. CoinLedger terminates coupon, discount, cashback and rebate sites immediately.
- No negative statements. CoinLedger's terms ban negative or false statements about the brand on social media, Q&A sites and forums, which limits honest comparison content.
- No self-referrals. Buying your own report through your link is banned at CoinLedger.
- Outdated rates in directories. "Up to 40%" for Koinly and a 16% CoinTracker publisher rate are third-party claims. Confirm inside the dashboard before you publish numbers.
- Unconfirmed network listings. CoinTracker publishes no publisher terms; a network listing may be the only route, with its own rules.
You are also writing next to tax law. Explain how software works and what it costs, but do not tell readers what they owe or how to file. Our crypto affiliate compliance guide covers disclosures and claims you should avoid.
Traffic strategies for crypto tax software
Exchange-specific tax guides. Searches like “how to report trades from a specific exchange” or “where to find my transaction history export” catch users at the exact moment they need import help. Pair each guide with the tool that supports that exchange.
Bot and DeFi users. Readers of trading bot and crypto lending content generate hundreds of taxable events and feel the pain early. A short “how to handle bot trades at tax time” section converts better than a generic banner.
Tutorials on video. Screen-recorded walkthroughs of importing a wallet and generating a report answer the real objection: “will this work with my accounts?” CoinLedger explicitly encourages TikTok, Instagram and X posts.
Accountants and tax professionals. Koinly lists them among accepted traffic types. One accountant newsletter can outperform a small blog for months.
Email as the deadline lever. Because cookies are short and decisions are seasonal, an email list lets you collect readers in the off-season and re-click them in deadline week. More channel tactics are in our crypto traffic sources guide, and the crypto affiliate website guide shows how to structure evergreen pages. If you mainly want quick referral links rather than a publisher deal, compare options in our crypto referral programs list.
Frequently asked questions
Which crypto tax software has the best affiliate program?
For long-term income, CoinLedger: 25% of every tax report a referral buys, every year they file, with a $30 minimum. Koinly pays 20% per sale but caps each order at $150 and targets large audiences. CoinTracker only documents a user referral scheme (20% of year one, max $500).
How much does the Koinly affiliate program pay?
Koinly's affiliate page advertises 20% of what a referred customer pays for an eligible tax plan, capped at the lower of the amount paid or $150 per order. Refunds are deducted from your balance and commissions are locked for 30 days. Older materials quoting up to 40% are not confirmed on Koinly's current pages.
Is the CoinLedger affiliate commission really recurring?
Yes. CoinLedger pays 25% of the report price each tax year a referred customer buys a report. The catch is a 15-day cookie, PayPal-only payouts and no commission on done-for-you Tax Services.
Does CoinTracker have an affiliate program?
CoinTracker publishes a user referral program run with Cello: 20% of the friend's first-year subscription, capped at $500 per referrer, paid via PayPal or Venmo. It has no public affiliate application page; FlexOffers lists a CoinTracker offer at 16% per sale with a 30-day cookie, which CoinTracker has not confirmed.
When do crypto tax affiliate programs convert best?
In the weeks before national filing deadlines: April in the US, January in the UK and October in Australia, according to Koinly's own data. Build and rank content months earlier, then push email and social reminders as each deadline approaches.