Tax Software · Crypto tax calculator & tracker

Koinly Affiliate Program Review

Koinly pays 20% of what a referred customer spends on an eligible tax plan, capped at $150 per order, in USD via PayPal or USDC. Commissions lock for 30 days, refunds are clawed back, and the program is aimed at creators with a sizeable audience.

Free to apply. Approval depends on your traffic sources and the program terms.

Commission 20% per sale, max $150 per order
Cookie life Not publicly confirmed
Payout frequency On request, 30–60 day cycle
Minimum payout Unconfirmed, $100 per directories
Payout methods PayPal, USDC

Program terms at a glance

Commission
Official affiliate page advertises 20% commission. Commission is earned only when a referred customer pays for an eligible tax plan; per-order commission is capped at the lower of the amount paid or $150 USD. Refunded amounts are deducted from the affiliate balance. Third-party directories report '20% first purchase, 10% on repeat purchases' and 'up to 40% for top performers' — not confirmed on current official pages.
Model
Per-sale %
Duration
Not disclosed (third-party sources report 10% on repeat purchases; unconfirmed)
Cookie life
Not publicly confirmed
Attribution
Affiliate link / affiliate code tracked to the referred account; codes can be deactivated for terms breaches
Payout frequency
On request, 30–60 day cycle
Minimum payout
Unconfirmed, $100 per directories
Payout methods
PayPalUSDC
Sub-affiliates
Not publicly confirmed
Allowed traffic
  • SEO/content sites
  • YouTube
  • Social media
  • Crypto communities
  • Accountants/tax professionals
Restricted traffic
  • Activity breaching affiliate terms (leads to code deactivation)
  • Specific PPC/coupon rules: Not disclosed
Affiliate KYC
Not publicly confirmed
Restricted regions
  • Not disclosed
Approval
Koinly's terms describe the affiliate program as intended for people with large followings or networks; smaller users are pointed to the Refer-a-friend program
Tracking & reporting
Affiliate dashboard with referral link/code and balance; sub-IDs and API/postback: Not disclosed
Promo materials
Not publicly confirmed
Manager support
Not publicly confirmed
What your referrals get
Not disclosed for affiliate links (referral-link benefits depend on the person sharing the link)

What stands out

What stands out

  • 20% of what the referred customer pays for an eligible tax plan
  • USD payouts via PayPal, with USDC offered as an alternative
  • Separate Refer-a-friend credit scheme for users with small audiences
  • Demand peaks before filing deadlines in the US, UK and Australia

Watch out for

  • Commission capped at $150 per order
  • 20% headline is below CoinLedger's 25% lifetime rate
  • Commissions locked for 30 days, and refunds are deducted from your balance
  • Cookie length and repeat-purchase terms are not published officially
  • Aimed at large audiences; smaller publishers are pointed to Refer-a-friend
  • Switching from Refer-a-friend forfeits unspent referral credits

Koinly is a crypto tax calculator and portfolio tracker: users connect exchanges and wallets, and Koinly produces tax reports for their country. Creating an account is free; the commission comes from paid tax plans. That makes it an easy recommendation for any crypto audience, especially in the weeks before a filing deadline.

The Koinly affiliate program pays a cut of those paid plans. The deal is simple, but there are three wrinkles worth understanding before you apply: a per-order cap, a 30-day lock with refund clawbacks, and a fuzzy line between the affiliate program and Koinly’s Refer-a-friend scheme.

How the Koinly affiliate commission works

Koinly’s affiliate page advertises 20% commission. You earn only when a referred customer pays for an eligible tax plan — free sign-ups do not count. The per-order commission is capped at the lower of the amount the customer paid or $150.

Here is what the cap means in practice:

Customer pays20% shareYou receive
$100$20$20
$500$100$100
$750$150$150
$2,000$400$150 (capped)

The table is arithmetic on Koinly’s published rule, not a quote of plan prices. The takeaway: the cap only bites on orders above $750. If your audience is mostly hobby investors buying entry-level plans, you will rarely hit it. If you serve high-volume traders or funds, expect the cap to flatten your best sales.

Refunds are deducted from your balance, and commissions are locked for 30 days after they are earned. That lock is long enough to cover most refund requests, so what you see after 30 days is close to final.

What about the “up to 40%” figure?

You will see “up to 40%” in older Koinly materials and in third-party directories. Some directories also report “20% on the first purchase, 10% on repeat purchases”. Neither is confirmed on Koinly’s current official pages. We treat 40% as historical or a negotiated top-performer rate, and repeat-purchase terms as not published. If you build a large audience, ask Koinly about a higher rate — but do not plan revenue around it.

Fact check

Confirmed on official pages: 20% commission, $150 per-order cap, 30-day lock, refund deductions, PayPal and USDC payouts. Not confirmed officially: cookie length, the $100 minimum payout, repeat-purchase commission, and any rate above 20%.

Koinly affiliate program vs Refer-a-friend

Koinly runs two schemes, and choosing the wrong one costs you money.

Refer-a-friendAffiliate program
Who can joinAny registered userCreators, communities and professionals with a large following
RewardKoinly credit for both you and your friendCash: 20% of the plan, max $150 per order
Paid viaCredit on future Koinly purchasesPayPal or USDC, in USD
TriggerFriend's first subscription purchaseEach eligible paid plan

Koinly’s terms describe the affiliate program as intended for people with large followings or networks and point smaller users to Refer-a-friend. No numeric threshold is published, so “large” is Koinly’s call.

One rule catches people out: if you switch from Refer-a-friend to the affiliate program, any unspent Refer-a-friend credits are forfeited and cannot be transferred. Spend them first. For a broader look at how referralReferral code A short code a new user enters at sign-up that permanently links their account to you, even if they never click your link. More schemes differ from cash affiliate deals, see our crypto referral programs overview.

How to join the Koinly affiliate program

  1. Create a free Koinly account. You need one to access the affiliate dashboard.
  2. Spend any Refer-a-friend credit. It disappears once you move to the affiliate program.
  3. Apply on the affiliate page. Use the "Become an affiliate" form at koinly.io/affiliate and describe your audience: channel size, countries, and how you plan to promote Koinly.
  4. Set up payouts. After approval, add your PayPal details, or ask about USDC if you prefer a stablecoin.
  5. Request payouts. Once commissions clear the 30-day lock, request payment from the dashboard.

The dashboard shows your affiliate linkAffiliate link Your personal URL that tells the program a visitor came from you. Clicks and sign-ups through it are credited to your account. More, code and balance. Sub-IDs, postbackPostback A server-to-server message the program sends to your tracker when a conversion happens, so you see sign-ups and deposits as they occur. More and an API are not documented, and Koinly does not publish details on promo materials or a dedicated manager.

Getting paid

Payouts are in USD, generally via PayPal, and Koinly’s affiliate page mentions USDC as an alternative. That makes Koinly one of the few tax tools you could list among affiliate programs that pay in crypto, though PayPal is the default.

Timing is less clear than it should be. Koinly’s FAQ and terms both describe payout requests on a 30–60 day cycle, but the wording differs between pages. Combined with the 30-day lock, assume one to two months between a customer’s purchase and cash in your account.

Traffic rules and the seasonality problem

Koinly’s terms let it deactivate affiliate codes for breaches, and there is a whole help article on deactivated codes. Specific rules on paid searchPPC Paid ads where you pay each time someone clicks, like Google or Bing search ads. Crypto ads face strict platform rules. More, brand biddingBrand bidding Buying search ads on a brand's own name, such as 'Bitget login'. Most crypto programs ban it and can void your commissions. More and coupon sites are not published. Until Koinly confirms otherwise in writing, avoid bidding on “Koinly” and avoid presenting your link as a discount code.

The bigger business risk is timing. Tax software sells in waves before national deadlines — the US in April, the UK in January, Australia in October. Most of your annual Koinly income will arrive in a few weeks.

Pro tip

Publish and refresh country-specific tax guides two to three months before each deadline, not during the final week. Search engines need time to rank the page, and early filers are the ones who have time to set up an account and import their history.

There is also competition from Koinly itself. Its own blog publishes guides on crypto taxes and even a “best crypto affiliate programs” list, so you are competing with the merchant for the same SEOSEO Search engine optimization: earning free, organic visitors from Google by publishing pages that rank for what people search. More keywords. Win on angles Koinly will not cover: comparisons with other tools, walkthroughs for specific exchanges or DeFi protocols, and local tax situations in smaller markets. Our crypto affiliate website guide covers how to structure that kind of content.

Conversion tips specific to Koinly

Tax software is bought by people with a problem, not by people browsing. Your content converts when it solves the problem first and recommends the tool second.

Start from the pain point. “How to report crypto staking income”, “what to do if an exchange shut down and you have no CSV”, “how DeFi swaps are taxed” — each of these leads naturally to a tool that imports transactions automatically. Show Koinly handling the specific case, with screenshots of the import and the resulting report.

Name the country. Koinly produces reports for many countries, but your reader cares about one. A page that says which local form or report Koinly generates beats a generic review.

Be upfront about the cost. Readers who expect a free report and then hit a paywall feel tricked and bounce. Explain that a free account is not the same as a free tax report, because the report comes with a paid plan. You will lose fewer people at checkout and cut refund requests that would claw back your commission.

Use video for imports. Connecting exchanges and wallets is the step where people get stuck. A short screen recording of the import process often converts better than a long written guide, which is why crypto creatorsKOL Key opinion leader: an influencer with an engaged audience, such as a YouTuber, an X account or a Telegram channel owner. More on YouTube tend to do well with tax tools.

Is it worth it for small sites?

Possibly not yet. Koinly says the affiliate program is for people with large followings and points smaller users to Refer-a-friend, which pays only in Koinly credit. If your site is new, CoinLedger’s self-serve program with no audience threshold is an easier first step, and you can apply to Koinly once your traffic grows. Our crypto traffic sources guide covers how to build that audience.

Who the Koinly affiliate program suits

  • Crypto YouTubers and newsletter writers with an engaged audience in countries with clear tax reporting rules.
  • Accountants and tax professionals who recommend software to clients.
  • Communities that can run a seasonal push before filing deadlines.
  • Sites with country-specific tax content that ranks in search.

It fits less well if you are small and just starting out (Koinly may route you to Refer-a-friend), or if you want income every month of the year.

Koinly vs other crypto tax affiliate programs

  • CoinLedger pays 25% on every tax report a referral buys, each year they file, from a $30 minimum. Its 15-day cookie and PayPal-only payouts are the trade-offs.
  • CoinTracker publishes a user referral scheme — 20% of a friend’s first-year subscription, up to $500 — while publisher terms run through third-party networks.

For a side-by-side view, see our crypto tax software affiliate programs category.

Verdict

The Koinly affiliate program is easy to explain to an audience and easy to forecast: 20% of each paid plan, capped at $150 per order, paid in USD via PayPal or USDC after a 30-day lock. For creators with a tax-season audience it is a natural fit.

Its weaknesses are transparency and upside. The cookie length, minimum payout and repeat-purchase terms are not published officially, the cap trims your largest orders, and CoinLedger’s recurring 25% beats it on paper for audiences who file every year. Apply if you have the audience, spend your referral credits first, and confirm the minimum payout in your dashboard.

Sources & official terms

Terms are taken from the official affiliate pages and agreements listed below. Programs change their terms without notice — confirm the current rates in the partner dashboard before you build a campaign around them.

  1. Koinly — Become an affiliate (official landing page
  2. Koinly Affiliate Program Terms
  3. Koinly Help — Affiliate FAQs
  4. Koinly Help — Refer a friend
  5. Koinly Help — Deactivated affiliate codes
  6. Affpaying — Koinly program listing (minimum payout, rate history · third-party
  7. Post Affiliate Pro directory — Koinly · third-party

Frequently asked questions

How much does the Koinly affiliate program pay?

Koinly's affiliate page advertises 20% commission on eligible paid tax plans. Per order, the commission is capped at the lower of the amount paid or $150. Older materials and directories quote up to 40%, but current official pages do not confirm that rate.

What is the difference between Koinly's affiliate program and Refer-a-friend?

Refer-a-friend is open to every user and pays in Koinly credit: when a friend buys a subscription for the first time through your link, you both get credit for future purchases. The affiliate program pays cash commission and is aimed at people with large followings. Moving to the affiliate program forfeits unspent Refer-a-friend credits.

How do Koinly affiliate payouts work?

Commissions are locked for 30 days after they are earned, then you can request a payout. Koinly's FAQ and terms describe a 30–60 day cycle, with slightly different wording between pages. Payments are in USD, generally via PayPal, with USDC mentioned as an alternative.

What is the Koinly affiliate minimum payout?

Koinly's official pages do not state it. Third-party directories report $100, so check the figure in your dashboard after approval.

Why was my Koinly affiliate code deactivated?

Koinly can deactivate affiliate codes for breaches of its affiliate terms and has a dedicated help article on this. Read the affiliate terms before you run any promotion you are unsure about.

Koinly Affiliate Program Review

20% per sale, max $150 per order

Join the affiliate program
↑