Exchanges · Spot, margin & derivatives exchange

Bitfinex Affiliate Program Review

Bitfinex affiliates no longer earn anything from trading: spot, margin, derivatives and OTC trades are zero-fee. Your commission is 18% of the margin funding fees your direct referrals generate, plus 6% and 2% from the next two levels — paid in crypto.

Free to apply. Approval depends on your traffic sources and the program terms.

Commission 18/6/2% of margin funding fees
Cookie life Not publicly confirmed
Payout frequency Not publicly confirmed
Minimum payout Not publicly confirmed
Payout methods BTC, USDT, Same crypto as fees collected

Program terms at a glance

Commission
Affiliates earn 18% of direct referrals' margin funding fees, 6% from first-level and 2% from second-level connections. Trading-fee commissions ended with zero-fee trading. Older multipliers (KYC, LEO holdings; up to 2.16x) have unverified current status. Bitfinex charges lenders 15% of the interest generated by active margin funding contracts (18% for hidden offers); the affiliate share is a cut of that fee. Spot, margin, derivatives and OTC trades carry zero maker/taker fees.
Model
RevShare
Duration
Not publicly confirmed
Cookie life
Not publicly confirmed
Attribution
Affiliate referral link/code
Payout frequency
Not publicly confirmed
Minimum payout
Not publicly confirmed
Payout methods
BTCUSDTSame crypto as fees collected
Sub-affiliates
Yes — 3 levels (18% / 6% / 2%)
Allowed traffic
  • Not disclosed
Restricted traffic
  • Not disclosed
Affiliate KYC
Bitfinex account required
Restricted regions
  • United States
Approval
Open to Bitfinex account holders
Tracking & reporting
Affiliate dashboard in account
Promo materials
Not publicly confirmed
Manager support
Not publicly confirmed
What your referrals get
Not publicly confirmed

What stands out

What stands out

  • Three-level structure (18/6/2%)
  • Paid in crypto (BTC/USDt)
  • No application threshold

Watch out for

  • No trading-fee commission since zero-fee trading
  • Earnings depend on referrals using margin funding
  • Not available to US residents

Search for “Bitfinex affiliate program” and you will still find pages promising a cut of trading fees. Those pages are out of date. Bitfinex switched to zero maker and taker fees on spot, margin, derivatives and OTC trades, and in its Zero Fees Q&A it says plainly that affiliates no longer earn rebates from trading fees. The program is still running — but what it pays on has narrowed to one product: margin funding.

That makes Bitfinex one of the most unusual programs in our crypto exchange affiliate directory. This review explains what margin funding is, what share you get, what that is realistically worth, and who can still make the program pay.

What zero-fee trading means for Bitfinex affiliates

On a typical exchange program, your income is a percentage of the trading feesTrading fees What an exchange charges per trade, usually a small percentage of the trade size. Most exchange affiliate commissions are a share of these fees. More your referrals pay. On Bitfinex, trading fees are zero, so a percentage of them is also zero. A referral who trades 1,000,000 USDT of futures a month — a dream user on Bybit or OKX — earns you nothing on Bitfinex unless they also lend on the margin funding market.

The affiliate program now pays on what is left of Bitfinex’s fee revenue. Bitfinex names margin funding as the remaining stream: referred customers who use margin lending generate affiliate commissions. Deposits, withdrawals and a handful of service fees exist, but Bitfinex does not list them as affiliate revenue.

Fact check

Bitfinex's Zero Fees Q&A says there is no longer any eligibility for affiliate earnings from maker or taker trading fees, and that affiliates can continue to earn from other revenue streams "such as margin funding". Margin lending fees did not change with the zero-fee switch.

How margin funding works — and where your commission comes from

Margin funding is a peer-to-peer lending market inside Bitfinex. Users who hold idle USD, USDt, BTC or other assets offer them as loans to margin traders, who pay interest to borrow. Lenders set a rate and a term; the minimum offer is $150 or equivalent. Earnings are credited daily around 01:30 UTC.

Bitfinex takes a cut of the interest lenders earn: 15% of the interest generated by active funding contracts, or 18% if the lender used the hidden-offer option. That fee is the pool your commission comes from. As an affiliate you get a share of it based on how closely the lender is connected to you:

ConnectionWho they areYour share of their margin funding fees
DirectPeople who signed up with your link18%
First levelPeople your direct referrals invited6%
Second levelPeople invited by your first-level connections2%

Three levels is rare among exchange programs, and it means a well-connected referral can keep paying you through the people they bring in. But every percentage here applies to a fee that is itself a fraction of interest — so the real numbers are small.

What a Bitfinex referral is actually worth

Bitfinex’s own support example makes the maths easy to follow. A lender offering 10,000 USD at 0.06% a day earns 6.00 USD a day in interest. Bitfinex keeps 15%, so 0.90 USD. If that lender is your direct referral, your 18% of the fee is about 0.16 USD a day.

$6.00lender's daily interest on $10,000
$0.90Bitfinex's 15% fee
≈ $0.16your 18% as direct affiliate

Over 30 days that is roughly 4.86 USD; over a full year, around 59 USD — and only if the full 10,000 USD stays lent at that rate every day, which depends on borrower demand. Funding rates swing with market conditions, and idle offers earn nothing. Scale it up and the picture changes: a referral who keeps 500,000 USD lent at the same rate would generate about 8 USD a day for you. In other words, the Bitfinex affiliate program now pays on balance size and lending activity, not on trading activity.

Compare that with programs that still pay on trading. Kraken’s affiliate program pays up to 50% of trading fees on spot, margin and futures. On Bitfinex, the same active trader is worth nothing to you; a large passive lender is worth a steady trickle.

Watch out

Margin lending carries risk: funds sit on an exchange, funding rates move daily and can drop sharply, and lent funds stay committed until the loan ends or is returned. Present it as a product with risks, not as guaranteed yield. Our compliance guide covers how to describe yield products without making misleading claims.

Multipliers: an older feature to confirm

When Bitfinex added margin funding rebates for affiliates, it also announced multipliers of up to 2.16x for affiliates who met conditions such as verifying their account and/or holding at least 500 USDt worth of LEO, Bitfinex’s exchange token. Whether those multipliers still apply under the current rules is not confirmed on any page we could check. Ask Bitfinex support before treating them as part of your earnings — and never buy LEO purely to chase a multiplier you have not confirmed.

How to join the Bitfinex affiliate program

  1. Make sure your audience is eligible. Bitfinex does not serve US residents. If most of your traffic is American, the program will not work for you.
  2. Open a Bitfinex account. There is no separate application or follower threshold — any account holder can join.
  3. Get your link. Open the Affiliates section of your account and copy your affiliate link or code.
  4. Share it where lenders are. Your earnings come from referrals who lend on the margin funding market, so target audiences interested in lending and passive yield.
  5. Watch the dashboard. The affiliate dashboard in your account is where you track referrals and commissions. If you plan to build a network, ask support how first- and second-level connections are displayed.

Getting paid: crypto in, crypto out

Commissions are paid in the cryptocurrency Bitfinex collected as fees. A funding fee collected in BTC is paid to you in BTC; fees collected in fiat or restricted tokens are converted to BTC or USDt. That suits affiliates who want to stay in crypto, and it avoids conversion slippage if your referrals mostly lend USDt.

Bitfinex does not publish payout frequencyPayout frequency How often the program pays you: hourly, daily, weekly, monthly or on request. More, minimum payoutMinimum payout The smallest balance you must earn before the program pays you. Earnings below it usually roll over to the next period. More, cookie lengthCookie life How long after a click the program still credits you if the visitor signs up or buys. A 30-day cookie gives the user 30 days to convert. More or commission duration for affiliates. Since referrals are bound through your link or code at sign-up, the cookie question matters less than duration: ask support whether a referral stays linked to you for the life of their account.

Traffic rules and compliance

Bitfinex does not publish an affiliate code of conduct listing allowed or banned traffic. That is not a green light. Follow the rules nearly every exchange enforces: no brand biddingBrand bidding Buying search ads on a brand's own name, such as 'Bitget login'. Most crypto programs ban it and can void your commissions. More on “Bitfinex login”, no lookalike domains or impersonation, no self-referrals, and no promotion to the US. Yield content attracts extra regulatory attention in many countries, so keep claims factual — show rates as historical, variable and not guaranteed.

Who the Bitfinex affiliate program suits

The program still makes sense for a narrow group:

  • Lending and yield communities whose members hold large stablecoin or BTC balances and want to put them to work.
  • Network builders who can recruit other promoters, since the 6% and 2% levels pay on their referrals too.
  • Existing Bitfinex users who already share the platform and lose nothing by attaching a link.

It does not suit trading-signal channels, futures educators or anyone whose audience trades actively but holds small balances. For those audiences, programs that pay on trading fees will earn many times more. Our revenue share vs CPA guide helps you match payout models to audiences.

Conversion tips for Bitfinex referrals

Talk about lending, not trading. “Zero trading fees” is a strong hook for sign-ups, but it brings you referrals who generate no commission. Pair it with content on margin funding: how offers and rates work, the 15% fee, the $150 minimum offer, daily crediting, and the risks.

Use the three levels deliberately. If you run a crypto affiliate community or mentor smaller creators, invite them through your link so their referrals earn you 6% and 2% of funding fees. Our sub-affiliate programs guide explains how to structure that without stepping on their audiences.

Bitfinex referral vs affiliate program

There is only one program. Every account holder gets the same affiliate link and the same 18% / 6% / 2% structure — there is no separate referral scheme for casual users and no application-only tier for creators.

Alternatives to the Bitfinex affiliate program

If you want to earn from an audience interested in yield and lending, these programs pay on more revenue:

Verdict on the Bitfinex affiliate program

Bitfinex’s affiliate program survived the move to zero trading fees, but it now pays only on margin funding: 18% / 6% / 2% of a 15% fee on lender interest. That works out to cents per day per typical lender, and real money only when referrals lend large balances. Join if your audience lends or if you already promote Bitfinex; look elsewhere if your audience trades.

Sources & official terms

Terms are taken from the official affiliate pages and agreements listed below. Programs change their terms without notice — confirm the current rates in the partner dashboard before you build a campaign around them.

  1. Bitfinex Support — The Bitfinex Affiliate Program
  2. Bitfinex blog — Zero Fees Q&A
  3. Bitfinex blog — Affiliates enjoy margin funding fee rebates
  4. Bitfinex fee schedule
  5. Bitfinex Support — How Funding interest earnings and fees are calculated

Frequently asked questions

How much does the Bitfinex affiliate program pay?

Bitfinex pays 18% of the margin funding fees generated by your direct referrals, 6% from your first-level connections (people your referrals invite) and 2% from second-level connections. Trading generates no commission because Bitfinex charges zero maker and taker fees.

Do Bitfinex affiliates still earn from trading fees?

No. Bitfinex moved spot, margin, derivatives and OTC trading to zero maker/taker fees, and its Zero Fees Q&A states that affiliates no longer earn rebates from trading fees. Affiliates continue to earn from other revenue such as margin funding.

What is margin funding on Bitfinex?

Margin funding is Bitfinex's peer-to-peer lending market: users lend their crypto or fiat to margin traders and earn interest. Bitfinex keeps 15% of the interest lenders earn (18% for hidden offers). Affiliates receive a share of that fee when their referrals lend.

How are Bitfinex affiliate commissions paid?

In crypto. Commissions are paid in the cryptocurrency Bitfinex collected as fees; fees collected in fiat or restricted tokens are converted to BTC or USDt. Payout frequency and minimum payout are not published.

Do I need to apply to the Bitfinex affiliate program?

No. Any Bitfinex account holder can get an affiliate link from the Affiliates section of their account. Bitfinex does not serve US residents, so US audiences are off-limits. Compare open programs in our crypto referral programs overview.

Bitfinex Affiliate Program Review

18/6/2% of margin funding fees

Join the affiliate program
↑