Program terms at a glance
- Commission
- Official page: up to 50% on Kraken (consumer app), Kraken Pro spot, margin and futures, and Kraken DEX swaps; 25% on Kraken Prop (funded trading evaluations). 'Top creators on the in-house program earn up to 50%'. The Impact track pays revenue share on trading fees (spot and futures trade fees, spot margin opening and rollover fees) and is open to CPA, flat placement fees or hybrids. Funding-rate payments and conversion fees are excluded. Final rates are negotiated per partner and vary by product, region and affiliate profile.
- Model
- Duration
- Not publicly confirmed
- Cookie life
- Not publicly confirmed
- Attribution
- Unique referral link plus tracking pixel; click and signup must happen on the same device/browser. Kraken will not manually attribute users who block Google Analytics or cookies (e.g. Brave, AdBlock Plus)
- Payout frequency
- Monthly or on demand; Impact on the 29th
- Minimum payout
- Not publicly confirmed
- Payout methods
- Sub-affiliates
- Not disclosed (sub-affiliate networks may join the Impact track as publishers)
- Allowed traffic
-
- YouTube, podcasts, newsletters
- Trading communities and crypto-native creators
- Personal finance and crypto content publishers
- Media networks and sub-affiliate networks (via Impact)
- Restricted traffic
-
- Deceptive or fraudulent methods to inflate referrals
- Charging referred customers any fee
- Framing Kraken content
- Adult, hateful, infringing or illegal content
- Breaching UK FCA financial-promotion rules or CAN-SPAM
- Vague Impact applications, private social accounts, inactive sites
- Affiliate KYC
- Kraken account (Public ID requested on the in-house application); affiliate KYC level: Not disclosed
- Restricted regions
-
- Afghanistan
- Belarus
- Crimea, Donetsk and Luhansk
- Cuba
- Democratic Republic of the Congo
- Iran
- Iraq
- Japan
- Libya
- North Korea
- Russia
- Sudan
- South Sudan
- Syria
- US states: New York and Maine
- Approval
- Application form reviewed by the partnerships team, typically within 5 business days; Impact track requires pre-approval of sites and apps
- Tracking & reporting
- Kraken affiliate dashboard (in-house) or Impact dashboard; conversions appear within 72 hours, fee revenue updated daily with a 3-4 day delay; weekly reports under the Affiliate Agreement; API/postback: Not disclosed
- Promo materials
- Brand assets, embeddable widgets, co-marketing; banners in Impact
- Manager support
- Dedicated account manager for in-house creators
- What your referrals get
- Not disclosed for affiliate links
What stands out
What stands out
- Up to 50% revenue share on consumer app, Pro spot/margin/futures and DEX swaps
- USDC payouts (in-house) or local-currency bank payouts (Impact)
- Revenue share, CPA, flat placement fees or hybrid deals negotiable
- 25% on Kraken Prop funded-trading evaluations
- Applications typically answered within 5 business days
Watch out for
- Rates are negotiated; 50% is reserved for top creators
- Referrals using Brave or ad blockers are not attributed and won't be fixed manually
- Impact earnings are paid on the 29th of the month after they are earned
- Not available in New York, Maine, Japan or Russia, among others
- Commission duration, cookie length and payout threshold are not public
Kraken’s affiliate program at a glance: one brand, two contracts
Most exchanges run one affiliate program with one dashboard. Kraken runs two. Which one you join decides how you are paid, who manages you and how fast money arrives, so pick your track before you fill in any form.
| In-house track | Impact track | |
|---|---|---|
| Built for | Creators, KOLs, trading communities | Media networks, content sites, traditional affiliates, sub-affiliate networks |
| Where to apply | Form on kraken.com/affiliate | Kraken campaign on app.impact.com |
| Commission models | Revenue share, up to 50% for top creators | Revenue share on trading fees; CPA, flat placement fees or hybrid negotiable |
| Paid in | USDC to your Kraken account | Your bank account's default currency |
| Payout timing | Monthly, or on demand once the threshold is reached | Visible by the 15th of the next month, paid on the 29th |
| Support | Dedicated account manager | Impact dashboard and Kraken partnerships team |
The common ground: the same products count, the same restricted regions apply, and the same attributionAttribution The rule that decides which affiliate gets credit for a user — for example, the last link clicked or the referral code entered at sign-up. More rules decide whether a signup is yours. Kraken says it has more than 800 partners and has paid $65M in commissions to them.
How the Kraken affiliate commission works
Kraken’s headline is “up to 50%” revenue share. It covers the Kraken consumer app, Kraken Pro spot, margin and futuresFutures Contracts that let traders bet on a coin's price, often with leverage, without owning the coin. They create high volume and high risk. More trading, and Kraken DEX swaps. Kraken Prop, its funded-trader evaluation product, pays a separate 25%. Kraken also lists commissions on Krak (its debit card app) and Kraken Earn as “coming soon”, so neither earns you anything yet.
Two words in that headline do a lot of work: “up to”. Kraken says top creators on the in-house program reach 50%, and final rates are negotiated per partner, varying by product, region and affiliate profile. If you are a mid-sized blog or a new channel, expect to negotiate from below 50% and to justify a higher rate with traffic data.
What counts as revenue
On the Impact track, revenue share is calculated on trading feesTrading fees What an exchange charges per trade, usually a small percentage of the trade size. Most exchange affiliate commissions are a share of these fees. More: spot and futures trade fees, plus spot margin opening and rollover fees. Two items are explicitly excluded:
- funding-rate payments on perpetual futures;
- conversion fees.
The Affiliate Agreement, signed with Payward, Inc., calculates your earnings weekly as a “Designated Service Percentage” multiplied by weekly customer revenue, and includes clawback rights for invalid referrals. Existing Kraken customers, including their beneficial owners and affiliated entities, never count as your referrals, even if they click your link and open a new account.
A clawback means Kraken can take back commission it already credited if it later decides a referral was invalid, for example a duplicate or an existing customer. Keep a buffer before you spend commission from a sudden spike.
CPA and hybrid deals
The Impact track is the one to choose if you want something other than pure revenue share. Kraken says it is open to CPACPA A fixed one-time payment you earn when a referred user completes a set action, such as passing KYC or making a first deposit. More, flat placement fees (paying for a featured spot on your site) and hybridHybrid A payment model that combines a one-time CPA payment with an ongoing revenue share, usually at a lower percentage than pure RevShare. More structures. Nothing about these deals is published, from amounts to qualifying actions. Bring your traffic numbers and audience geography to the conversation; that is what Kraken prices against. Our CPA vs RevShare vs hybrid guide helps you decide which to ask for.
Commission duration is also not disclosed. Ask whether your revenue share runs for the lifetime of the referred account or for a fixed period, and get the answer in your agreement.
The ad-blocker problem: attribution you can lose
This is the most practical issue with Kraken’s tracking, and few reviews mention it.
Kraken tracks signups with your unique referral link plus a [[tracking-pixel|tracking pixel]]. The click and the signup must happen on the same device and browser. If the user blocks Google Analytics or cookies, for example with Brave or AdBlock Plus, the signup is not attributed, and Kraken states it will not fix this manually.
Crypto audiences use privacy browsers and ad blockers far more than the average web user, so this costs real money. What you can do:
- Tell readers plainly, near your link, that tracking blockers can stop the signup from registering. Kraken itself suggests asking referrals to disable them.
- Avoid flows that move users between devices, such as a desktop article that tells people to “download the app on your phone”. A QR code that opens your link on the phone is safer.
- Compare clicks with recorded signups in your dashboard. A gap far larger than on your other exchange offers points to blocker losses.
Reporting has delays built in, too: conversions appear within 72 hours, and fee revenue is updated daily with a 3–4 day lag. API or postbackPostback A server-to-server message the program sends to your tracker when a conversion happens, so you see sign-ups and deposits as they occur. More tracking is not disclosed, so if you run paid campaigns that need server-to-server dataS2S tracking Tracking where conversions are reported directly between servers rather than through the user's browser, so blockers can't lose them. More, ask before you scale. Our tracking and postback guide covers workarounds.
How to join the Kraken affiliate program
- Pick your track. Creators and community owners who want USDC go in-house. Websites, media groups and networks that want fiat or a CPA go through Impact.
- Open a Kraken account. The in-house form asks for your Kraken Public ID, along with your login email, social links, contact details and target countries.
- Apply. In-house: use the form on kraken.com/affiliate. Impact: apply to the Kraken campaign on Impact with the site or app you will promote on, since it must be pre-approved.
- Avoid the common rejection reasons. Impact applications listed as "Offline" or "Other" with no context, private social accounts and inactive or irrelevant sites get turned down. Individuals with no business are directed to the referral program instead.
- Agree terms during onboarding. Kraken's partnerships team typically replies within 5 business days. Rates and models are settled here, so negotiate now.
- Place your link and pixel. Get brand assets, embeddable widgets or Impact banners, and add a short note asking readers to disable tracking blockers.
Getting paid
In-house creators receive USDC in their Kraken account, monthly by default or on demand once they reach the payout threshold. Kraken does not publish that threshold. If you are already comfortable holding stablecoins, this is the more flexible option. See our list of affiliate programs that pay in crypto for comparable deals.
Impact-track affiliates are paid to their bank account in its default currency. Earnings for a month become visible by the 15th of the following month and are paid on the 29th. In practice, fees from a trade early in one month reach you near the end of the next month, so plan your cash flow around a lag of up to two months.
Traffic rules and restricted regions
Kraken’s rules are about honesty and local law more than specific channels. You may not inflate referrals with deceptive or fraudulent methods, charge referred customers any fee, frame Kraken’s content, or promote on sites with adult, hateful, infringing or illegal content. Marketing must comply with financial-promotion rules such as the UK FCA’s, and with anti-spam laws such as CAN-SPAM. Brand-keyword bidding is not addressed in the public summary we reviewed; clear it with your manager before running PPCPPC Paid ads where you pay each time someone clicks, like Google or Bing search ads. Crypto ads face strict platform rules. More.
Kraken does not serve Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Iran, Iraq, Japan, Libya, North Korea, Russia, Sudan, South Sudan, Syria, or the Crimea, Donetsk and Luhansk regions. In the US, New York and Maine are excluded. For the rest of the US, Kraken is one of the few large exchanges with an active affiliate program, which is its biggest advantage over offshore competitors. Our crypto affiliate compliance guide explains how to handle UK promotions and mixed-geo audiences.
Who Kraken suits, and who should look elsewhere
Good fit: US-facing publishers outside New York and Maine; creators with trading audiences on YouTube, podcasts or newsletters; established content sites that want fiat payouts or a CPA they can negotiate; prop-trading communities, thanks to the 25% Kraken Prop rate.
Poor fit: small or brand-new sites hoping for a published 50% rate on day one; audiences heavy on Brave and ad blockers; Japanese or Russian traffic; individuals with no business presence who want the Impact track.
Kraken affiliate vs referral program
The Kraken user referral program pays a fixed $20 in your default currency per qualifying friend on the Kraken app and Kraken Pro, with headline offers of up to $1,000 and $200, delivered within 14 days. The Krak app’s $10 referral is ending outside the EEA. It is simple and open to any customer, but it is a one-off bonus. The affiliate program swaps that for an ongoing, negotiated share of trading revenue and a contract. If you publish regularly, the affiliate track is worth the application.
Alternatives to Kraken
- Coinbase’s affiliate program pays 50% of trading fees, but only for the first 3 months, and its status history is patchier.
- Gemini offers a flat $25 CPA on Impact for US-focused publishers.
- OKX pays a published 30% to 50% revenue share in USDT within hours, for international audiences outside the US.
See every crypto exchange affiliate program side by side, or the highest-paying crypto affiliate programs if rate is your main filter.
Verdict
Kraken is the most flexible exchange affiliate deal for US-friendly publishers: revenue share up to 50%, a 25% Prop rate, room for CPA or hybrid terms, and a choice between USDC and fiat payouts. The trade-off is opacity. Rates, duration, cookie length and payout thresholds are all negotiated or undisclosed, and ad-blocker attribution losses are permanent. Go in with traffic data, negotiate hard, and tell your readers how to make sure their signup is tracked.
Sources & official terms
Terms are taken from the official affiliate pages and agreements listed below. Programs change their terms without notice — confirm the current rates in the partner dashboard before you build a campaign around them.
Frequently asked questions
How much does the Kraken affiliate program pay?
Kraken advertises up to 50% revenue share on the Kraken app, Kraken Pro spot, margin and futures, and Kraken DEX swaps, plus 25% on Kraken Prop funded-trading evaluations. Kraken says top creators on the in-house program earn up to 50%; final rates are negotiated per partner and vary by product, region and profile. CPA, flat placement fees and hybrid deals are also possible on the Impact track.
What is the difference between Kraken's in-house and Impact affiliate tracks?
The in-house track is for creators and KOLs: you apply on kraken.com/affiliate, get a dedicated account manager and are paid in USDC to your Kraken account. The Impact track is for media networks, content sites and traditional affiliates: you apply on Impact, need site pre-approval and are paid to your bank account, with earnings shown by the 15th of the following month and paid on the 29th.
Why are some of my Kraken referrals not tracked?
Kraken attributes signups through your referral link plus a tracking pixel, and the click and signup must happen on the same device and browser. Users who block Google Analytics or cookies, for example with Brave or AdBlock Plus, are not attributed, and Kraken will not attribute them manually.
Kraken affiliate program vs referral program: which should I use?
The user referral program pays a fixed $20 bonus in your default currency per qualifying friend on the Kraken app and Kraken Pro, delivered within 14 days. The affiliate program is for creators and businesses, with a negotiated revenue share up to 50%. Kraken directs individuals without a business to the referral program. See our crypto referral programs guide.
Can I promote Kraken to US users?
Yes, in most states. Kraken is not available in New York or Maine, and it restricts Japan, Russia, Belarus, Iran, North Korea and several other countries. UK promotions must follow FCA financial-promotion rules.
Does the Kraken affiliate program pay on stocks?
Kraken's affiliate page lists the Kraken app, Kraken Pro spot, margin and futures, Kraken DEX swaps and Kraken Prop as commission-eligible. Tokenized stocks are not named on that list, so confirm with your account manager before building stock-focused content around the program.