Program terms at a glance
- Commission
- Official affiliate page: 'Receive 50% of your referrees' trading fees for the first 3 months', with an asterisk that EU/EEA (MiFID) terms, commission structures and payment schedules may differ. No tiers, CPA or flat bounty are published on the official page. Third-party listings citing $10 or $50 flat CPAs could not be confirmed.
- Model
- Duration
- First 3 months after the referred user signs up
- Cookie life
- Not publicly confirmed
- Attribution
- Impact tracking links and deep links
- Payout frequency
- Not publicly confirmed
- Minimum payout
- Not publicly confirmed
- Payout methods
- Sub-affiliates
- Not publicly confirmed
- Allowed traffic
-
- Articles and content sites
- New content creation
- Ads placed on the affiliate's own website
- Restricted traffic
-
- UK-based affiliates (UK program closed)
- Brand-keyword paid search (banned in the referral terms)
- Affiliate T&C not public; other rules not disclosed
- Affiliate KYC
- Not publicly confirmed
- Restricted regions
-
- United Kingdom (program closed)
- EU/EEA (terms may differ under MiFID)
- Approval
- Apply via Impact; applications reviewed before access to assets and tracking
- Tracking & reporting
- Impact platform: campaign performance data, custom landing pages and deep links, 20+ customizable reports
- Promo materials
- Promotional assets supplied after approval
- Manager support
- Coinbase Affiliate representative referenced for EU/EEA terms
- What your referrals get
- Not disclosed for affiliate links; Coinbase.com separately advertises new-user promos for first purchases
What stands out
What stands out
- 50% of referred users' trading fees for their first 3 months
- Runs on Impact, with deep links, custom landing pages and 20+ report types
- Paid in local currency via PayPal or bank, no crypto wallet needed
- Fiat on-ramp by bank, debit or card fits beginner 'how to buy' content
Watch out for
- Commission stops after the first 3 months per referred user
- UK affiliate program closed until further notice
- Affiliate terms, cookie length and payout threshold are not public
- US program was suspended once, announced only by email to affiliates
- EU/EEA terms differ and are only available from a Coinbase representative
Is the Coinbase affiliate program shut down? The short answer
No, but the question is fair. “Coinbase affiliate program shut down” is a common search for a reason: Coinbase did pause its US program once, and it never published a public relaunch announcement. Meanwhile, the official affiliates page has stayed online the whole time. That mix of signals is why you will find blog posts calling the program dead next to ones telling you how to apply.
Here is how the pieces fit together, step by step:
- The US suspension. Coinbase told its US affiliates by email that it was suspending the affiliate-marketing program, citing the crypto bear market. The emails leaked and were reported by Business Insider, Decrypt and BeInCrypto. Coinbase said it intended to bring the program back later.
- No public relaunch. We found no official Coinbase announcement that the US program came back.
- The page never went away. The official Coinbase affiliates page kept its wording through the suspension. Its latest version invites publishers to apply through the Impact network and offers 50% of referees’ trading fees for the first 3 months.
- The UK closed separately. The page states that the UK affiliate program is closed until further notice.
- The EU has its own terms. An asterisk on the page notes that for EU/EEA activity under MiFID, terms, commission structures and payment schedules may differ, and points you to a Coinbase affiliate representative.
What is confirmed and what is not
Because Coinbase says so little in public, it helps to separate facts from assumptions before you build content around this program.
| Claim | Status | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Official affiliates page is online and accepts applications | Confirmed | Latest archived copy of coinbase.com/affiliates |
| Program runs on Impact (Coinbase-Consumer campaign) | Confirmed | Apply link on the official page |
| 50% of referees' trading fees for 3 months | Confirmed | Official page wording |
| UK program closed until further notice | Confirmed | Official page notice |
| US program was suspended once | Confirmed by press | Leaked affiliate emails reported by three outlets |
| US program formally relaunched | Not confirmed | No public announcement found |
| EU/EEA rates and payout schedule | Not public | Only from a Coinbase representative |
| Flat CPA of $10 or $50 | Not confirmed | Third-party listings only |
| Cookie length, minimum payout, payout schedule | Not disclosed | Affiliate T&C not publicly available |
One more caveat: the live affiliates page blocks automated checks, so our status reading relies on the most recent archived copy of the official page. If you are about to invest serious time, log in to Impact and confirm that the campaign accepts you before you publish.
Search results still surface an older Coinbase help-center article about a "Pro Affiliate Program". It belongs to the old Coinbase Pro trading platform, not to the current Impact program. Use the main affiliates page as your reference for terms.
How the Coinbase affiliate commission works
The deal is simple on paper: 50% of the trading fees your referred users pay during their first 3 months. After those 3 months, the user stops earning you anything. This is a time-limited revenue share, not a lifetime commissionLifetime commission You keep earning from a referred user for as long as they stay active, with no end date written into the deal. More and not a CPACPA A fixed one-time payment you earn when a referred user completes a set action, such as passing KYC or making a first deposit. More.
That design changes how you should think about the traffic you send:
- Front-loaded activity pays. A user who buys, sells and rebalances in the first weeks is worth far more to you than one who buys once and holds for a year.
- Long-term holders pay little. Coinbase’s audience leans toward beginners buying and holding, so many referrals will generate small fee totals in that 3-month window.
- No tiers to climb. The official page publishes no volume levels, so there is no reason to concentrate traffic to reach a higher rate.
Coinbase does not publish a cookie lengthCookie life How long after a click the program still credits you if the visitor signs up or buys. A 30-day cookie gives the user 30 days to convert. More or how attributionAttribution The rule that decides which affiliate gets credit for a user — for example, the last link clicked or the referral code entered at sign-up. More works beyond Impact tracking links and deep linksDeep link An affiliate link that sends the user straight to a specific page — such as a coin's buy page or a promo — instead of the homepage. More. Assume standard Impact click tracking and don’t promise yourself credit for users who sign up weeks after clicking.
How to join through Impact
Coinbase handles applications on the Impact platform, not in-house. If you already work with other brands on Impact, the process is familiar.
- Confirm you are not UK-based. The UK affiliate program is closed, and the page says UK residents are not accepted.
- Start from the official page. Click "Become an affiliate" on coinbase.com/affiliates rather than a third-party link, so you land on the right campaign.
- Create or log in to an Impact partner account. Apply to the Coinbase-Consumer campaign with your website or channel details.
- Wait for review. Coinbase reviews applications before granting access to assets and tracking. No timeline is published.
- Pull links and assets. Once approved, Impact gives you tracking links, custom landing pages, deep links and promotional assets.
- Track and report. Impact offers campaign performance data and 20+ customizable reports. Add [[subid|sub-IDs]] to see which articles convert.
If you are in the EU or EEA, expect a different conversation. The page says terms may differ under MiFID and directs you to a Coinbase affiliate representative, so ask for the full commission structure and payment schedule in writing before you start.
Getting paid: fiat through Impact
Coinbase pays affiliates electronically through Impact, by PayPal or bank account, and promises compensation “in your local currency, no matter where you live.” For many publishers that is a plus: no crypto wallet to manage and no stablecoin conversion for tax bookkeeping.
What you won’t find is a published payout frequencyPayout frequency How often the program pays you: hourly, daily, weekly, monthly or on request. More or minimum payoutMinimum payout The smallest balance you must earn before the program pays you. Earnings below it usually roll over to the next period. More. Both sit in the affiliate terms, which are not public. Once approved, check the campaign’s payment settings inside your Impact account rather than assuming the schedule matches your other Impact brands — each advertiser sets its own.
Coinbase user referral program vs the affiliate program
Many people searching for the affiliate program actually want the referral program, and the two are easy to mix up.
The user referral program is for existing Coinbase customers. You share a link; when your friend makes a first qualifying purchase by bank transfer, debit or credit card within 90 days of verifying their account, you both receive a bonus in crypto or local currency. The amount varies by country, payouts take 5 to 15 days, and caps may apply. Referrals must not go to residents of the UK or Turkey, and Washington State residents are excluded from SMS referrals. Coinbase One and the Coinbase One Card run their own separate referral rewards.
The affiliate program is for publishers and creators. It pays a share of trading fees rather than a one-off bonus, runs on Impact, and pays in fiat.
The referral terms ban paid ads on "Coinbase" keywords and using "Coinbase" in ad copy, and violators lose their referral code. The affiliate terms are not public, but treat [[brand-bidding|brand bidding]] as off-limits there too unless Coinbase approves it in writing.
Who the Coinbase affiliate program suits
A good fit if you:
- run a US or international content site with beginner audiences searching “how to buy Bitcoin” or “how to open a Coinbase account”;
- prefer fiat payouts via PayPal or bank and already manage partnerships on Impact;
- publish articles, comparison pages or on-site ads, which are the traffic types the page explicitly lists.
Skip it if you:
- are UK-based or mostly write for UK readers;
- need recurring commissions that last beyond 3 months;
- want transparent, published terms before you commit content to a brand.
For a broader look at which models suit beginner traffic, see our CPA vs RevShare vs hybrid guide, and check the crypto affiliate compliance guide before promoting to UK or EU readers.
Conversion tips for Coinbase content
Coinbase’s brand does the heavy lifting on trust, so your job is to close the gap between “I’ve heard of it” and “I signed up and traded.” Content that walks a reader through the first purchase and first few trades tends to fit the 3-month window best: buying with a debit card, setting up recurring buys, moving from simple buy/sell to the advanced trading view. Avoid paid search on the brand name; build organic pages for long-tail questions instead. Our crypto traffic sources guide covers SEO and YouTube approaches that work for this kind of offer.
Alternatives to the Coinbase affiliate program
If the 3-month limit, the UK closure or the opaque terms put you off, compare:
- Kraken’s affiliate program: negotiated revenue share up to 50%, CPA and hybrid deals possible, and both USDC and fiat payout tracks. Available in most US states.
- Gemini’s affiliate program: a flat $25 per new trading account on Impact, for US-focused publishers who prefer a CPA.
- OKX’s affiliate program: lifetime revenue share from 30% up to 50% in USDT for international audiences outside the US.
- Bitvavo and Bitpanda for EU-focused publishers.
The full crypto exchange affiliate programs list lets you filter by payout method and region.
Verdict
The Coinbase affiliate program is alive, runs on Impact, and pays 50% of referred users’ trading fees for 3 months in local currency. That is a reasonable deal for beginner-focused US and international publishers who already work with Impact. But it is a short-window commission from a brand that has paused its program once without public notice, keeps its terms private, and has closed the UK entirely. Use it as one offer among several, not as the backbone of your site, and confirm your acceptance in Impact before you build content around it.
Sources & official terms
Terms are taken from the official affiliate pages and agreements listed below. Programs change their terms without notice — confirm the current rates in the partner dashboard before you build a campaign around them.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Coinbase affiliate program shut down?
No. Coinbase once suspended its US affiliate program, telling affiliates by email and citing the crypto bear market. The official coinbase.com/affiliates page never went offline, and its latest version invites applications through the Impact network. The UK affiliate program, however, is closed until further notice.
How much does the Coinbase affiliate program pay?
The official affiliate page offers 50% of your referees' trading fees for the first 3 months after they sign up. No tiers, CPA or flat bounty are published. Flat CPA figures quoted on some third-party sites could not be confirmed against Coinbase's own pages.
How do I apply to the Coinbase affiliate program?
Click 'Become an affiliate' on coinbase.com/affiliates, then create or log in to an Impact partner account and apply to the Coinbase-Consumer campaign. After approval you get promotional assets, tracking links and deep links inside Impact. UK residents are not accepted.
What is the difference between the Coinbase affiliate and referral programs?
The user referral program gives you and your friend a bonus in crypto or local currency after the friend's first qualifying purchase within 90 days of verification. The affiliate program is for publishers: 50% of the referee's trading fees for 3 months, tracked and paid through Impact. Our crypto referral programs guide compares the two models.
How does Coinbase pay affiliates?
Through Impact, in your local currency, by PayPal or bank transfer. Coinbase does not publish a payout schedule or minimum payout for the affiliate program.