Exchanges · Spot, futures, options & Web3 exchange

Gate Affiliate Program (formerly Gate.io) Review

Gate pays affiliates a revenue share on spot, futures, options, CFD and Web3 fees, advertised as permanent and quoted at up to 80% on its futures page — but there is no public rate table, so your real rate is whatever your account manager offers in writing.

Free to apply. Approval depends on your traffic sources and the program terms.

Commission Up to 80% long-term rebate
Cookie life Not publicly confirmed
Payout frequency Not publicly confirmed
Minimum payout Not publicly confirmed
Payout methods Not disclosed

Program terms at a glance

Commission
Affiliate commissions cover Spot, Futures, Alpha/Trenches, Web3, CFD and Options. Gate's futures page cites affiliate long-term rebates up to 80%; the standard 'Super Commission' referral pays up to 40% for one year. Exact affiliate tier table not published. The older Ambassador program used 12-month rebate periods with a 5% second-level rebate.
Model
RevShare
Duration
Advertised as permanent (no term published); 1 year for standard referral
Cookie life
Not publicly confirmed
Attribution
Referral link / code bound at sign-up
Payout frequency
Not publicly confirmed
Minimum payout
Not publicly confirmed
Payout methods
Not disclosed
Sub-affiliates
Not publicly confirmed
Allowed traffic
  • Content creators
  • Social media
  • Community owners/bloggers
Restricted traffic
  • Paid ads on Gate brand terms
  • Lookalike websites or social accounts
  • Emails or SMS posing as Gate staff
  • Public promotion in restricted regions
Affiliate KYC
Gate account required
Restricted regions
  • Gate restricted locations (User Agreement)
Approval
Application form reviewed by Gate
Tracking & reporting
Custom links and landing pages that bind users without a code
Promo materials
Custom referral links and pages; campaign support
Manager support
Dedicated account manager and 24/7 support
What your referrals get
Not publicly confirmed

What stands out

What stands out

  • Commission on many products: spot, futures, options, CFD, Web3
  • Dedicated account manager
  • Perks: VIP tiers, HODLer Airdrop early access, offline events

Watch out for

  • No public rate table or affiliate T&C
  • Conflicting headline rates across Gate pages
  • Payout frequency, minimum and currency not published
  • Brand-term PPC banned on Google, Facebook, TikTok, X, Bing and Yandex

Gate — the exchange most people still call Gate.io — runs one of the broadest affiliate programs among large exchanges. It pays on spot, futuresFutures Contracts that let traders bet on a coin's price, often with leverage, without owning the coin. They create high volume and high risk. More, options, CFDs, its Alpha and Trenches sections, and the Web3 wallet. What it does not do is tell you, in public, how much. There is no rate table on the affiliate page and no published affiliate agreement, and the numbers Gate does show across its own site point in different directions.

This review sorts out what is confirmed, what is advertising, and what you need to pin down with Gate before you build content around it.

Gate.io is now Gate: what changed for affiliates

The exchange rebranded from Gate.io to Gate and moved its main domain to gate.com. The affiliate program kept running under the new name, and the portal now lives at gate.com/affiliate. If you have old articles or videos built around gate.io links, refresh them and test every link: your readers now search for “Gate”, and a link that matches the brand they see on the site converts better than one that looks outdated.

The rebrand also explains why search results are messy. Many third-party pages still describe the older Ambassador program, which used 12-month rebate periods and a 5% second-level rebate. That structure has been replaced. Treat any “Gate.io affiliate” page that quotes a fixed 12-month window or a 5% second tier as outdated.

Four Gate programs, four different numbers

The single most confusing part of the Gate affiliate program is that Gate runs several partnership tracks, each with its own headline figure. Here is how they fit together.

ProgramWho it is forHeadline rateDuration
Super Commission referralAny Gate userUp to 40% of fees1 year per invitee
Affiliate programCreators, communities, bloggers (application)Long-term rebates up to 80% (futures page)Advertised as permanent
Broker programAPI platforms, Portal BrokersUp to 70% on spot (Portal Brokers)Per broker agreement
KOL recruitmentLarge influencersSalaries up to $50,000 plus monthly airdropsPer contract

The 80% figure is the one that gets quoted in “highest-paying” lists, but it comes from Gate’s futures product page, not from a published affiliate schedule. The affiliate page itself only says “industry-leading rebate rates”. In practice, Gate sets your revenue shareRevShare You earn a percentage of the revenue a platform makes from your referred users — on exchanges, usually a share of their trading fees. More after reviewing your application, and large partners negotiate. Read 80% as a ceiling for top futures affiliates, not as the rate a new blogger will receive.

Fact check

Confirmed on Gate's own pages: affiliate rebates are described as "permanent", they cover Spot, Futures, Trenches, Web3, CFD and Options, and approved affiliates get a one-on-one account manager. Not published anywhere: the tier table, the payout schedule, the minimum payout, the payout currency and the sub-affiliate rate.

What “permanent rebates” means in practice

Gate’s affiliate page lists “permanent commission rebates” as a benefit. That puts the affiliate track in the lifetime commissionLifetime commission You keep earning from a referred user for as long as they stay active, with no end date written into the deal. More camp, and it is the clearest difference from the open referral program, where each invitee earns you fees for one year only.

The word “permanent” still needs a contract behind it. Without published terms, nothing on the page tells you whether an inactive invitee can be re-bound to someone else, whether Gate can lower your rate after a quarterly review, or whether your rate differs by product. Bybit and OKX, for comparison, both document a 180-day inactivity rule that can break the link to a referred user. Ask Gate whether a similar rule applies before you assume every user stays yours forever.

How to join the Gate affiliate program

  1. Check where your audience lives. Gate restricts its services in several jurisdictions, listed in its User Agreement, and its referral program is unavailable to users in Belgium, the UK, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Turkey, Austria and South Korea. If most of your readers are in those countries, your conversions will suffer.
  2. Create and verify a Gate account. The application is tied to your existing account, so complete identity verification first.
  3. Submit the application form. Use the affiliate application page. Gate targets content creators, social media accounts and community owners; no follower minimum is published, so show your best channels and traffic numbers.
  4. Get your rate in writing. When the account manager contacts you, confirm the rate per product, the payout terms and the duration before you publish anything.
  5. Build custom links and landing pages. Approved affiliates can create personalized referral links and landing pages that bind referees automatically, without the user typing a referral code.

Questions to ask your Gate account manager

Because the terms are negotiated, the onboarding call is where you earn or lose money. Go in with a list. These are the questions that matter most for an exchange program with no public schedule:

  • What is my rate on spot, futures, options and Web3 separately — and does it change with volume?
  • Is there a review period after which my rate can go down?
  • How often are commissions settled, in which currency, and is there a minimum?
  • Does an inactive invitee stay bound to me, and for how long?
  • Can I recruit [[sub-affiliate|sub-affiliates]], and what do I earn from them?
  • Do you support [[subid|sub-IDs]] or [[postback]] tracking for paid campaigns?
  • Which countries am I not allowed to target, beyond the User Agreement list?

Save the answers in an email thread rather than a chat app. If a dispute ever comes up, a written record from your affiliate managerAffiliate manager Your contact person at a program or network. They approve applications, answer rule questions and can negotiate better rates. More is the only “contract” you have. Our tracking and postback guide explains what to do if the answer on sub-IDs is no.

Getting paid by Gate

Gate advertises “flexible payout methods” and stops there. Payout frequency, minimum payout and payout currency are not published for the affiliate program. What we can confirm is from the open referral side: referral data updates within 24 hours of a successful invitation, so your dashboard should show new sign-ups the next day.

Most large exchanges settle affiliate commissions daily into your exchange wallet — MEXC settles at 00:00 UTC, KuCoin pays T+1, Bitget credits T+1 to the spot account. It is reasonable to expect something similar, but until Gate states it, plan your cash flow as if payouts could be monthly.

Gate’s affiliate code of conduct and traffic rules

Gate’s rate card is vague, but its rulebook is not. The Affiliate Code of Conduct on the help center spells out what gets you removed.

Watch out

Paid ads on Gate brand terms — "Gate", "Gate login", "Gate official", "Gate referral" — are banned on Google, Bing, Yahoo, Yandex, Facebook, TikTok and X. Violations can cost you your affiliate status and your commission rebate qualification, and land you on Gate's Affiliate Blocklist.

The code also bans websites that mimic Gate’s homepage or overuse its logo, social accounts that look like official Gate accounts, emails or SMS that impersonate Gate staff, and public promotion of referral links in regions where Gate is restricted. That last point matters for anyone with a global audience: if a YouTube video ranks in a restricted country, you are expected to make clear the offer is not for residents there. Our crypto affiliate compliance guide covers how to handle mixed-geo audiences without losing the rest of your traffic.

Brand biddingBrand bidding Buying search ads on a brand's own name, such as 'Bitget login'. Most crypto programs ban it and can void your commissions. More aside, organic SEO, YouTube, Telegram communities and social content are all welcome — Gate explicitly targets creators and community owners, and approved affiliates can be promoted through Gate’s own Live, Post and Copy channels.

Who the Gate affiliate program suits

Gate works best for affiliates whose audiences already trade beyond the majors. Commissions cover Alpha and Trenches (Gate’s early-stage token sections), Web3, options and CFDs, so a community that hunts new listings or trades derivatives generates fees across many products. Gate’s perks for affiliates — VIP tier privileges, early access to HODLer Airdrop projects, GT ecosystem benefits and invitations to offline events — also give you something to talk about beyond fee rates.

It is a weaker fit if you need predictable, documented terms to build a business plan, if you run paid search, or if your audience sits mostly in the UK, Germany, France, the Netherlands or South Korea.

Conversion tips for Gate referrals

Use the custom landing pages. Because they bind users without a code, you remove the most common failure point in exchange referrals — a user who forgets to paste the code and signs up untracked.

Write about products Gate is known for rather than generic “buy Bitcoin” guides. Tutorials on claiming HODLer airdrops, trading in the Alpha section or using the Web3 wallet attract users who generate fees in categories your commission covers. And when you compare exchanges, be specific: say Gate’s affiliate rebates are permanent while its open referral lasts one year, rather than repeating the 80% headline.

Gate referral vs affiliate program

If you are a regular user with a few friends to invite, the Super Commission referral is the simpler route: up to 40% of invitees’ spot, Trenches, futures and margin fees for one year (fiat transactions excluded), plus vouchers of up to 200 USDT for you and up to 100 USDT for the friend. Each user can only join through one referral method, and a referral breaks if the invitee switches regional sites during sign-up.

If you publish content or run a community, apply for the affiliate track. Permanent rebates beat a 12-month window on any user who keeps trading, and the account manager is your channel to a better rate.

Gate affiliate alternatives with published numbers

If you want terms you can verify before applying, these programs publish more:

The crypto exchange affiliate programs category lets you sort the whole field by commission and payout terms.

Verdict on the Gate affiliate program

Gate offers wide product coverage, permanent rebates and a dedicated manager, with clear rules on brand bidding. The weakness is transparency: no tier table, no payout schedule, and headline numbers that contradict each other. Apply if your audience trades altcoins and derivatives, but treat the onboarding call as a negotiation and get every term in writing before you publish.

Sources & official terms

Terms are taken from the official affiliate pages and agreements listed below. Programs change their terms without notice — confirm the current rates in the partner dashboard before you build a campaign around them.

  1. Gate Affiliate Program page
  2. Gate Super Commission referral page
  3. Gate Futures page (affiliate rebate mention)
  4. Gate Ambassador Program upgrade
  5. Gate Help Center — Affiliate Code of Conduct
  6. Gate Help Center — Restricted Locations

Frequently asked questions

How much does the Gate affiliate program pay?

Gate does not publish an affiliate tier table. Its futures page cites long-term affiliate rebates of up to 80%, while the open Super Commission referral pays up to 40% for one year. Approved affiliates get a rate set by Gate after review, so ask your account manager for the exact percentage per product before you send traffic.

Is the Gate.io affiliate program the same as the Gate affiliate program?

Yes. Gate.io rebranded to Gate and moved to gate.com, and the affiliate program continues under the new name. Apply from gate.com/affiliate, and update any older gate.io links in your content to the current domain.

What is the difference between Gate's Super Commission referral and the affiliate program?

Super Commission is open to any user: up to 40% of invitees' spot, Trenches, futures and margin fees for one year, plus vouchers of up to 200 USDT for you and up to 100 USDT for your friend. The affiliate program requires an application, advertises permanent rebates and comes with a one-on-one account manager. See our crypto referral programs overview for how the two models differ across exchanges.

Can I run Google Ads on Gate brand keywords?

No. Gate's Affiliate Code of Conduct bans paid ads on Gate brand terms such as "Gate", "Gate login", "Gate official" and "Gate referral" on Google, Bing, Yahoo, Yandex, Facebook, TikTok and X. Breaking it can cost you your affiliate status, your commissions and a place on Gate's Affiliate Blocklist.

How often does Gate pay affiliate commissions?

Gate does not publish payout frequency, minimum payout or payout currency for affiliates — the affiliate page only promises "flexible payout methods". Ask your account manager to confirm all three in writing during onboarding.

Gate Affiliate Program (formerly Gate.io) Review

Up to 80% long-term rebate

Join the affiliate program
↑