Payments & Cards · Crypto payment gateway + gift cards

CoinGate Merchant Referral Program Review

CoinGate pays you 20% of the fee it collects from every business you refer, for as long as that business keeps processing crypto payments, with automatic monthly payouts in euros once you pass €50. Referred merchants also get 10% off their fees for three months.

Free to apply. Approval depends on your traffic sources and the program terms.

Commission 20% of processing fees, for life
Cookie life Not publicly confirmed
Payout frequency Monthly, automatic
Minimum payout €50
Payout methods Fiat (bank)

Program terms at a glance

Commission
Referrer earns one-fifth (20%) of the fee CoinGate collects on payments processed by each referred business, for as long as the business keeps processing through CoinGate. No limit on number of referred businesses.
Model
RevShare
Duration
Lifetime of referred merchant
Cookie life
Not publicly confirmed
Attribution
Referral link; referred company domain registered in the referral form
Payout frequency
Monthly, automatic
Minimum payout
€50
Payout methods
Fiat (bank)
Sub-affiliates
No
Allowed traffic
  • Agencies, developers and e-commerce consultants
  • Merchant-focused content
Restricted traffic
  • Not disclosed
Affiliate KYC
Not publicly confirmed
Restricted regions
  • Not disclosed
Approval
'Become a Referrer' form (referrer type: agency/web studio, consultant/accountant, crypto media/influencer, existing merchant or other; primary URL; expected referrals 1–3, 4–10, 11–25 or 25+; target industries; referred company domain) or dashboard registration; must accept the Referral Agreement
Tracking & reporting
Monthly performance report by email
Promo materials
Not publicly confirmed
Manager support
Not publicly confirmed
What your referrals get
Referred merchants get 10% off processing fees for their first 3 months

What stands out

What stands out

  • Lifetime 20% share of processing fees
  • Automatic monthly EUR bank payouts
  • Referred merchants get a 10% fee discount for 3 months

Watch out for

  • Pays only on merchant volume — B2B audience required
  • €50 minimum and EUR bank transfer only
  • Reporting is a monthly email rather than a live dashboard
  • Referral Agreement text mentions €100 and invoicing, unlike the €50 referral page

CoinGate is a Lithuania-based crypto payment gateway. Merchants use it to accept bitcoin, stablecoins and other coins at checkout, through plugins for common e-commerce platforms or through its API. The CoinGate affiliate program is officially called the Merchant Referral Program, and the name tells you what it pays for: businesses, not people.

The deal is easy to explain to anyone. You refer a company. Each time that company makes a sale through the CoinGate payment option, CoinGate takes its processing fee, and one-fifth of that fee is yours. That continues for as long as the company keeps processing, and the money lands in your bank account in euros every month.

What 20% of the fee means in practice

Unlike programs that share a slice of “profit” or “net revenue”, CoinGate’s referral page names the base plainly: 20% of CoinGate’s fee collected from payment processing. That makes the maths simple once you know the fee the merchant pays.

CoinGate fees earned from your merchantsYour 20% share
€100 in a month€20 (below the €50 minimum, rolls over)
€250 in a month€50 (paid out)
€1,000 in a month€200

These are arithmetic examples on the published rate, not earnings estimates. The fee itself depends on the merchant’s plan and volume, which you can see on CoinGate’s pricing pages and which the merchant agrees with CoinGate, not with you.

Two features make the revenue shareRevShare You earn a percentage of the revenue a platform makes from your referred users — on exchanges, usually a share of their trading fees. More more valuable than the headline suggests.

No referral limit. CoinGate explicitly puts no cap on how many businesses you can invite. An agency with a dozen clients can refer all of them.

The commission runs with the merchant. CoinGate’s page says “forever”, and the detail clarifies that the share applies for as long as the business processes payments through CoinGate. That is a true lifetime commissionLifetime commission You keep earning from a referred user for as long as they stay active, with no end date written into the deal. More in the sense that matters: there is no five-year cut-off, as there is at NOWPayments. The only thing that stops it is the merchant leaving.

Referred businesses get something too: a 10% discount on processing fees for their first three months. CoinGate does not say whether that discount reduces your share during those months. Since your 20% is calculated on the fee CoinGate actually collects, assume a slightly smaller share at the start.

The referral page and the Referral Agreement do not say the same thing

This is the part of the CoinGate program to read twice. The referral page and the legal Referral Agreement it links to describe different payout mechanics.

Watch out

The referral page promises 20% of CoinGate's fee, paid automatically each month in euros from €50. The linked Referral Agreement instead describes "a share of the gross margin" on fees (without a percentage), a €100 payment threshold, a monthly statement within 15 days of month-end, and payment within 30 days of your invoice, by bank transfer or crypto. Ask CoinGate which terms govern your account before you rely on either.

Our reading is that the referral page reflects the current consumer-facing offer, and the agreement is a general template written for a broader referral model. Gross margin (fee revenue minus bank, interchange and similar costs) would be a smaller base than the fee. That is a material difference, so get the answer in writing, ideally by email from the partnerships team.

A few other clauses in the agreement are worth knowing even if the economics follow the page:

  • The agreement is governed by Lithuanian law, with Vilnius courts having jurisdiction.
  • Payments are treated as including any taxes due; you are responsible for your own tax reporting.
  • CoinGate can amend the terms and only has to notify you of changes that affect you. No notice period is stated.
  • A referral counts only once the merchant signs with CoinGate and is approved. A business that applies and is rejected earns you nothing.

The agreement does not list banned traffic types such as spam, PPCPPC Paid ads where you pay each time someone clicks, like Google or Bing search ads. Crypto ads face strict platform rules. More or brand biddingBrand bidding Buying search ads on a brand's own name, such as 'Bitget login'. Most crypto programs ban it and can void your commissions. More. It asks referrers to act in good faith and follow CoinGate’s instructions. Treat that as a reason to ask before running paid ads, not as permission.

How to become a CoinGate referrer

There are two routes in: the “Become a Referrer” form on the referral page, or registration through the CoinGate dashboard. The form is short, but it asks the questions a partnerships team uses to decide how much attention you get.

  • Referrer type: agency or web studio, consultant or accountant, crypto media or influencer, existing merchant, or other.
  • Your contact handle and primary URL.
  • Expected volume: 1–3, 4–10, 11–25 or 25+ businesses.
  • Target industries (multiple choice).
  • Referred company domain, which ties a specific business to you.
  • Consent to the Referral Agreement and Privacy Policy.
  1. Apply on the referral page. Fill in the form on coingate.com/referrals or register through your CoinGate dashboard, and accept the Referral Agreement.
  2. Register each merchant's domain. CoinGate attributes referrals by your link and by the company domain in the form. Make sure the domain you enter is the one the merchant will process on.
  3. Get the merchant approved and live. The business signs up through your link, is approved by CoinGate after its business checks ([[kyb|KYB]], the business version of identity verification) and integrates the checkout. Under the agreement, only approved merchants count as referrals.
  4. Read the monthly report. CoinGate emails you a referral performance report once a month. There is no live dashboard.
  5. Receive euros. Accumulated rewards above €50 are sent automatically to the bank account you provided.

The monthly email is the weakest part of the setup. You will not see a merchant’s activity in real time, so if a client’s checkout breaks, you will find out from the merchant or from next month’s report. Keep your own notes on when each business went live. The tracking guide explains how affiliates usually work around thin reporting.

Who should promote CoinGate

Agencies and web studios. CoinGate lists them first among referrer types for a reason. If you build or maintain online stores, a crypto checkout is one more line in your proposal, and every client you onboard can pay you for as long as their store runs.

Accountants and business consultants. You advise companies on payments and tax already. Recommending a gateway with an EU base and clear euro settlement fits that conversation.

Crypto and fintech media with a business audience. Merchant guides, plugin tutorials and “accepting crypto” explainers reach owners at the moment they decide.

Existing CoinGate merchants. If you already use CoinGate and know other business owners, the referral form has a category for you.

Skip it if your audience is retail crypto users, if you need payouts in crypto by default, or if you want daily visibility of what your referrals are doing. For retail audiences, Bitrefill’s 1% store-credit program, the card programs in our payments and cards category or exchange programs make more sense.

Lead with the discount. 10% off processing fees for three months is the only concrete merchant incentive in this category. Put it in the first line of your pitch and on your landing pageLanding page The page a visitor lands on after clicking an ad or link. It is built to persuade them to take one action. More.

Target industries that ask for crypto. The form asks for your target industries because CoinGate cares about fit. Digital goods, hosting, software and services with international customers tend to see real crypto demand. A merchant who never receives a crypto payment is worth nothing to you, however easy the sign-up.

Do the integration work. For an agency, the referral is a by-product of a delivered project. Offer to install the plugin and test the checkout. Every hour you save the merchant shortens the time to their first payment.

Be honest about pricing. Show the merchant CoinGate’s public fee page, not a promise of savings. Credible advice is what keeps B2B clients, and the compliance guide explains why disclosure matters when you earn from a recommendation.

Find other referrers. Agency owners and e-commerce consultants gather in communities where crypto payments come up regularly. Our list of crypto affiliate communities is a starting point.

Outdated terms you will still see quoted

Some third-party directories still describe CoinGate’s program as “1% per order, up to €1,000”. That scheme contradicts the current referral page, which is built entirely around 20% of fees with no cap on referrals. If you see the old figure, it is stale. CoinGate also runs a separate gift-card affiliate program for consumer audiences, with unpublished rates; it is a different product and is not covered by the merchant terms on this page.

CoinGate vs other payment affiliate programs

ProgramYour shareBaseDurationPayout
CoinGate20%CoinGate’s feeWhile merchant processesEUR bank, monthly, €50
NOWPayments25%NOWPayments’ profit on fees5 years, extendableCrypto on request, 50 USDT
Bitrefill1%PurchasesLifetimeStore credit
WirexRates inside ImpactCustomer actionsNot publishedBank or PayPal via Impact

NOWPayments has the bigger headline but a smaller base and a five-year term; CoinGate has the clearer base, no end date and fiat payouts. If your clients are wallets or apps rather than shops, MoonPay’s integrator model is the more relevant comparison. The CPA vs RevShare vs Hybrid guide explains why a long fee share usually suits B2B referrals better than a flat bounty.

Verdict

CoinGate’s merchant referral program is one of the cleanest B2B offers in crypto: 20% of the fee, no referral cap, no end date while the merchant processes, monthly euro payouts from €50, and a fee discount you can offer the merchant. For agencies, developers and consultants who already influence payment choices, it is close to free money once a client is live.

The caveats are real but manageable. Reporting is a monthly email. Payouts are euros by bank, not crypto. And the linked Referral Agreement describes a gross-margin share, a €100 threshold and invoicing, which do not match the referral page. Settle that question with CoinGate before your first referral, and the rest of the program is easy to plan around.

Sources & official terms

Terms are taken from the official affiliate pages and agreements listed below. Programs change their terms without notice — confirm the current rates in the partner dashboard before you build a campaign around them.

  1. CoinGate Referral Program page
  2. CoinGate Referral Agreement terms
  3. CoinGate Gift Cards affiliate program article

Frequently asked questions

How much does the CoinGate referral program pay?

CoinGate pays referrers 20% of the fee it collects on payments processed by each referred business. If CoinGate earns €100 in fees from your merchant in a month, your share is €20. There is no limit on how many businesses you can refer.

How long do CoinGate referral commissions last?

For as long as the referred business keeps processing payments through CoinGate. The referral page calls it earning forever; in practice the commission ends when the merchant stops using CoinGate.

What is the CoinGate affiliate minimum payout?

The referral page sets it at €50, paid automatically each month in euros to your bank account. The linked Referral Agreement text mentions a €100 threshold and invoice-based payment, so confirm which applies to you when you sign up.

Does CoinGate pay referral commissions in crypto?

The referral page says payouts go in euros to your bank account. The Referral Agreement allows bank transfer or cryptocurrency, but the advertised method is EUR by bank. For programs that pay in coins, see affiliate programs that pay in crypto.

Is there a CoinGate affiliate program for gift cards?

Yes, CoinGate runs a separate gift-card affiliate program for consumer audiences. Its rates are not published. The 20% merchant referral program described on this page only pays on business processing volume.

CoinGate Merchant Referral Program Review

20% of processing fees, for life

Join the affiliate program
↑